You’re a . . . ."Vegan?" Part 1

Once upon a time, I tried going vegetarian in high school. The next night my mom made pork ribs, and that was the end of my meat-less journey.
By the beginning of my junior year in college (2013), I had moved out and settled in to my first apartment. Within the first month of the new semester I made a couple new friends, and one of them happened to be vegan. Eventually, she said “hey…you should try going vegan, too,” or something along those lines. I figured I could give it another shot, especially since I was in charge of my own groceries this time.

 

(Vegan friend on the left)

As a full-time college student with no job I couldn’t afford to buy steak or chicken all the time, but when I did it was always organic. Since I was already cutting back on meat consumption because of the cost, I feel like this is what made my transition so easy. Plus, I had already been cutting dairy from my diet for health reasons and drinking almond milk instead of cow’s milk.

If it wasn’t for my friend, I would probably still be eating meat (…maybe).

Leave a Reply

