If You Put Your Mind To It….

I sometimes reflect on certain things from my past that I had to do in order to get to where I am today. For instance, I was car-less for a year while living in Buffalo. I had decided to register for 18 credit hours for the summer quarter just so I could graduate on time (because I had transferred from a community college and had to take some pre-requisite courses for other courses in my major). I absolutely HATED taking the public bus so sometimes I would walk to school – a 4.4 mile round trip. Some mornings I would think, “why am I doing this?” and at that time I thought it would never end. Soon the summer session ended and those long walks to school eventually became a foggy memory, even though at that time I thought I was going to die (I know, poor me…just kidding).

Now I know this tiny life-crisis of mine wasn’t as serious as, say, struggling financially and not having enough money for food, but to me this was a crappy time. What I learned is that, although it may not seem like it during that specific time, eventually every difficult moment in our lives becomes a distant memory that we can look back on and think, “wow, I can’t believe I actually did that.” It’s crazy because one of the biggest reasons we are able to come out on top is because we put our mind to it. We tell ourselves we can do this, it’s not impossible, and it will be over soon…or we have some outside force driving us and motivating us to get through it. In my opinion, that’s what separates goal-chasers from day-dreamers. Goal-chasers have the mentality where they will do anything to get to where they want to be in life, and they actually achieve their goals. Any obstacles they encounter are overcome with a positive mind, dedication, and persistence.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that if you’re dealing with stressful times (like pulling all nighters for class or something much more serious in life…) it won’t last forever. It will be over soon and you will (hopefully) never be put in that situation again as long as you are working hard towards bettering yourself and your life. Just keep thinking you can do anything and everything is possible, because it definitely is if you put your mind to it!

Leave a Reply

