Bastyr Week 3 Re-Cap

“The art of all medicine is rooted in the heart. If your heart is false, you will also be a false physician; 
if your heart is just you will always be a true physician.” – Paracelsus 1958

This past week has been so busy and stressful I wasn’t able to post, BUT now that I finished my third exam I have a little free time (woohoo!). Instead of doing an outline each week (because I feel like that’ll get boring) I have decided to just highlight some exciting things that happened each week.

  • Tuesday (10/6) I had my first exam in med school! It was anatomy (nervous system, body planes, and lower limbs). I feel like I went in head first with a blind fold on because I had no clue what the exam was going to be like. The first exams at a new school, with new professors, are the hardest to prepare for in my opinion.
  • A lot of studying all week for the anatomy exam PLUS the biochem and histo/embryo exam taking place in week 4.
  • Same IMS/IFS science classes and naturopathy classes.
  • Friday afternoon cadaver lab really got to me this week…I feel like I was worse off than I was the first week! We dissected the glutes and hamstrings; thankfully the head is still wrapped, but something about it seems eerie and creeps me out. I also felt worse than usual because of the formaldehyde. I usually jump right into the hot tub when I get home to detox whatever has soaked into my body (tip I gained from an upperclassmen).
  • Saturday morning I also attended a presentation for business and practice management for current/future naturopathic physicians. There was a LOT of helpful tips and information on how to keep your practice safe legally.

I still feel like I’m trying to juggle and balance study time with meeting assignment deadlines for my other classes. To be honest, I like we always have an exam coming up and the fast pace of the classes – it keeps me on my toes!

Reasoning behind today’s quote…
When I heard this quote in naturopathic theory and practice I couldn’t help but be drawn to the words. I think being a doctor is one of the greatest professions in the world (yes, maybe I’m a little bias…), but I don’t think it’s for everyone. It takes a lot of patience, persistence, dedication, and time management, among other things. Above all else a doctor’s heart needs to be in the right place. To me this includes a doctor who expresses empathy, compassion, and understanding towards their patients. Don’t be in it just for the money or because your family wants you to, but be in this profession because YOU truly want to make a difference in the lives of your future patients. You can always tell the difference between a doctor who truly cares about your health versus a doctor who sees your time as money.

Leave a Reply

