Why Choose One When You Can Have Both?

Wednesday Motivation

My life is on track in this moment of time. I’m grateful and blessed to be where I am today.  But lately I’ve been feeling confused. I feel like I’m losing who I am…the real me. It’s a constant battle between resisting change and wanting to change in certain areas to better myself. This past year has brought so many external changes within my life such as graduating with a Bachelor’s degree, moving from Buffalo to San Diego, and starting my first year at naturopathic medical school. They say stepping out of our comfort zone promotes growth, but it’s scary. There are things from my past that I don’t mind tossing and never looking back at, but there are also things that I want to keep with me forever…like my love for fashion and beauty, animals, nutrition, and the outdoors. Sometimes I feel like a walking contradiction because I love the glamorous lifestyle AND the simple, natural things in life as well. Naturopathy is a form of medicine that I agree with wholeheartedly, but can I still pursue this career without comprising my love for looking good and having nice things?

On lunch break earlier this week some classmates and I drove past a Lamborghini. Of course we all thought it was a beautiful car and jokingly said we should have 3 matching ones. As much as I enjoy looking at Lamborghinis my love for Audis is strong! I said, “you guys can have the Lambo I’ll stick with the Audi R8 my dream car.” My friend responded, “well why couldn’t you just have both?” She made a good point. I feel like my whole life I’ve had to choose between one or the other, and I never questioned it. Both naturopathic medicine and fashion/beauty are two passions of mine that bring me happiness. In this moment, I have decided to tell myself that it’s ok to want everything…that I can have it all if I want to.
Leave a Reply

