Bastyr Week 6 Re-Cap

First of all, Happy Halloween! I’m not much of a costume person but I do enjoy some non-scary Halloween movies with popcorn in my pjs. Second, we are HALFWAY through the quarter, woohoo! I can’t believe how fast time flies. It seems like just yesterday we were all newbies (well, except for the people who started classes over the summer) sitting in orientation. I’m finally settled into my routine and getting the hang of things (it’s about time!). So this week…

  • I had my first gross anatomy lab practical. Let’s just say it was…not what I was expecting. I went into the cadaver lab so many times last week with a classmate and still when the exam came there were some structures that I had a hard time identifying. I’m just glad it’s over.
  • For Naturopathic Theory and Practice lab all first year students went on a little field trip to the Botanic Gardens in San Diego. It was so pretty! My favorite was the bamboo garden (typical Asian, ha!). The fruit garden was pretty cool, too. I guess a lot of my classmates and some teachers were given fruit that had fallen off the tree. Too bad I was venturing through the Rainforest section (which was totally awesome!).
  • The NMSA (naturopathic medical student association) had their first meeting Saturday morning. I am a representative for the New York Association of Naturopathic Physicians (NYANP) in the NMSA πŸ™‚ I really enjoyed it. At first I was thinking ugh, I don’t want to get up Saturday morning and go to this meeting! But it wasn’t bad at all when I got there. I’m usually a very shy person so if I have to go somewhere where I don’t know anyone, well, I usually don’t go ha. However, as soon as I walked in everyone was really nice so I felt comfortable. I think it’s really exciting to talk about our goals and plans for the future of naturopathic medicine and how we as students can make an impact.
  • I had to get my second (technically 3rd) tuberculosis (TB) test this week as well. Needles have never really bugged me but I don’t really care for them…I mean who does? I also look in the opposite direction I’m getting the shot and shut my eyes really tight. I probably look silly but it’s the only way I can deal with getting poked.
I’m just glad I get to relax this weekend, at least for a little bit. The studying is endless! We already have two exams next week, and two more exams the following week. Then we have Β a week of classes before Thanksgiving week. Before I know it final exams will be here and the quarter will be over!
Leave a Reply

