Bastyr Week 7 Re-Cap

9446f-atlas2bof2bmedical2bstudent2bbrain
I can’t believe there’s only 4 more weeks of the quarter left! Apparently Bastyr is already interviewing potential students for Fall 2016…which is crazy to think about because just a few months ago I was in that exact same position. This past week was a little hectic between studying for my science-based courses and completing assignment deadlines for other naturopathic classes. Luckily, I have a great friend that I study with and she keeps me in check, especially when I don’t feel like studying. It’s nice to have someone in medical school who supports you and wants you to succeed as much as them, and vice versa. This week…
  • Had our second IMS anatomy exam and and first IMS biochemistry exam. I think I did well on the anatomy exam…but I’m not completely sure because grades for that haven’t been posted yet. I did better on this biochemistry exam then I did on the first one (which I did pretty decent on as well) so that made me happy. For some reason I just love medical biochemistry – it’s my favorite class! I think I love it so much because I can easily relate it to real life situations. I didn’t care for general chemistry or organic chemistry because I had a hard time relating it to real life.
  • In NTP we talked about spirituality and energy medicine. I feel like this was one of the most difficult topics we have discussed so far. I feel like spirituality is such a complex concept to grasp. I have this idea of how I would define it in my head, and why it’s important for ND’s to be spiritually healthy, but I just couldn’t find the right words to explain it when we broke up into groups for further discussion. To me, spirituality means believing in a higher power and pursuing your purpose in life, and as a naturopathic doctor I think it’s important to have spirituality so that we can guide other’s towards achieving their purpose in life as well. But this is all just the tip of the iceberg!

Saturday morning I went to the farmer’s market in Little Italy for the first time. It was huge! There were so many tents and so many different things being sold, from vegetables/fruit to handmade jewelry. Then I spent most of the day at the beach which was a great break from studying! My brain is so burnt out, but I have two more exams to study for next week – histology and ISF biochemistry. So, Sunday morning it’s back to the study grind!

Leave a Reply

