Spring Quarter ’16: Week 3

Appreciation of life.jpg

Seriously. Where does the time go?? I’m already done with Week 3 of 11. Midterms are coming up in Week 5, and in the mean time there are weekly assignments due for clinical skills (quizzes), integrated case studies (review + preview assignments), and physiology (endocrine case studies). Besides the assignments and reviewing notes, this week was a good week. First of all, my Gaia Stress Response came in the mail and I started taking that daily. I feel like it’s helping a lot! My overall mood is better and I don’t feel like my head is going to explode from all the thoughts running wild of what I needs to be done every day. Secondly, I managed to catch the sunset on the beach several times this week with my boyfriend Corey. If you’ve never watched the sunset on the beach…you’re really missing out. I absolutely love doing it – walking barefoot in the sand and dipping my toes into the ocean (or body…which I still have yet to do…) is a great feeling, and a great way to re-connect with nature and relieve stress (especially from crazy med school).  I feel so lucky to be able to go to the beach whenever I want now.

THIS WEEK’S HIGHLIGHTS:
  • We took out the spinal cords and brains from the cadavers for Integrated Nervous System! Now for the rest of the quarter we will be examining them in the histology lab rather than in the cadaver lab (which I’m so happy about because I already feel like two hours in gross lab on Friday is a little more than enough for me to handle a week).
  • In clinical skills we practiced eye examinations! Many of my classmates bought the pan-optic ophthalmascope by Welch Allyn. I opted for the Heine Mini 3000 diagnostic set (ophthalmascope and otoscope). The set is so cute! I’m not going to lie I found it a bit hard to use for examining the eye…but I feel like once I master this then any other ophthalmascope will be a piece of cake to use. Plus, not going to lie diagnostic sets are expensive and the mini was the cheapest (about $475). 

FullSizeRender

  • For NTP lab this week, we were divided into groups and given a country, along with a major health issue for that country, to research. We had to four questions: 1) what naturopathic principle is most important for treating this population? 2) what modalities would be best suited for this population? 3) what basic needs should be established for this population? and 4) how would you merge that country’s traditional medicine with naturopathic medicine? My group chose India and Acute diarrheal illness. Honestly, a major naturopathic principle that can be applied here is PREVENTION, along with Docere and First Do No Harm. Unfortunately, good hygiene and proper sanitation are overlooked in India…no wonder so many individuals are getting diarrhea! Especially young children, which is very problematic because many children die from diarrheal illness every year. Basically my group said that we should teach the population about hygiene (i.e. properly washing hands after going to the bathroom and before preparing food) and sanitation (i.e. keeping a clean kitchen, boiling water to kill any bacteria, etc…). Good modalities for this population would be diet and nutrition, herbs, homeopathy, and acupuncture.
  • In gross lab we had to dissect the facial muscles in our cadaver. It’s been about 8 months since we first got the cadavers…let’s just say the body isn’t looking too good. It smells worse, it’s somehow juicier (I have no clue how or why…everyone else’s cadavers aren’t as bad!), and it’s dry and looks like chicken jerky dog treats. Not a pretty picture. The face was a mess from last quarter when we dissected some of the muscles in cheek area and parotid duct.

  • We had a case study Friday on a 14 y.o. girl who was concerned about not getting her period yet (no onset of menses). She ran long-distance and cut carbs from her diet to become more competitive, and when she ate a lot she ran even more. When I first read this I immediately thought she had an eating disorder and self-esteem issues, but there are so many things that are still unknown about the girl and her lifestyle. We had to come up with 3 follow up questions – mine were: How do you feel about food? What do you eat in a typical day? How do you feel about gaining weight? It could be that she truly wants to be a competitive and successful athlete, or maybe there are underlying issues as to why she runs so much (e.g. anxiety or depression). It was an interesting case.

 

Leave a Reply

