Meatless Monday: Chickpea “Tuna” Sandwich

fullsizer-1

I haven’t had tuna fish sandwiches in a few years, but I do remember how much I enjoyed eating them. When I came across chickpea or “vegetarian tuna fish” sandwiches I thought it was so weird…but if you’ve every smelled chickpeas they actually do smell kind of fishy. I found a couple recipes online and kind of combined them to create my own. This recipe was adapted from “Better than Tuna Salad: Chickpea Salad” by Full of Beans and “Chickpea Tuna Salad” by MindBodyGreen.

Chickpea “Tuna” Salad/Sandwich

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 15oz can of chickpeas (garbanzo beans)
  • 1/4 onions (white or red), finely chopped
  • 2 celery stalks, finely chopped
  • 2-3 baby carrots, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup Vegan mayo (I like Sir Kensington’s Fabinaise Mayo)
  • 1/2 TSP to 1 TSP of mustard seed
  • Salt and pepper to taste

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Rinse and drain chickpeas.
  2. Mash chickpeas in a bowl (I use a potato masher or fork) – it can be as chunky or as smooth as you prefer.
  3. Finely chop the onions, celery stalks, and baby carrots. Add to the bowl with the chickpeas.
  4. Finish adding in the mustard seed and vegan mayo.
  5. Mix together. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Slather on breadΒ or enjoy by itself!
Leave a Reply

